Having worked in internal communications for over 5 years it’s difficult to know how to adapt to the changing landscape of social tools. I’m a huge advocate of social media and applying that internally but can you ever really let go of controlled communication?

I write this as a colleague sent a mass email to people about an operational issue that will occur during a large sporting event later this year. He was being helpful, giving them information they needed. But I can’t help but tense because this communication should have gone on our intranet for everyone, and we have a comms plan for the event that we should follow. Am I being unreasonable? Am i too used to everything being joined up before going out to the masses? And how on earth do I get passed this?

I like structure and process and a comms plan, so does all that go out the window when you introduce and integrate social tools in a business? He could have posted this on our intranet, but even then would that be ok if the comms plan has timescales and other channels included for messages?

I genuinely don’t have the answer but it’s made me realise how easy it is to pay lip service to social tools in internal communications and how the reality of change is actually quite daunting!  Here’s hoping for some discussion on this at the Social Workplace Conference in May!